T: +43 5273 6219 DE | EN BookingInquiry
Heavenly cuisine at the monastery inn

Restaurant

In the monastery kitchen of the traditional restaurant, fresh, regional, high-quality products are prepared into delicious delicacies and hearty snacks. For a sweet treat, you must try the Waldrast torte or one of the tempting cake and pastry creations from our own pastry shop.

Our monastery inn is a popular destination for hikers, pilgrims, alpinists, connoisseurs, and those seeking peace & quiet.

Our culinary secret?

Whenever possible, we use products from our own farm, hunting, and fishing. For example, our Kwell char swim in the water of the Waldrast springs at an elevation of 1,600 m, and our cattle spend their summer right outside our door on the pastures of the Waldraster Alm.

The rustic dining lounges in the monastery inn radiate genuine Tyrolean coziness and hospitality and invite you to enjoy yourself and relax. On the sunny terrace with 150 seats, most of which are under a covering, you can immerse yourself in a monastic idyll and savor culinary delights with a grandiose view of the main ridge of the Alps.

Committed to sustainability

Along with the monastery inn, we also run a farm and forestry business. Thus, the newly built farm building with stables and threshing floor flank the building complex of the Waldrast to the southwest. 

In addition to the production of local food (Kwell char, Tyrolean alpine ox), the farm enables us to supply our wood-chip heating facility in a CO2 neutral manner using renewable resources from our mountain forest. Electricity for the Waldrast is also produced locally. Our hydroelectric power plant allows you to enjoy the modern comforts and infrastructure of the 21st century in a house with 500 years of history and an exposed location.

T: +43 5273 6219 DE | EN BuchenAnfrageShuttlebus
Himmlisch Essen im klostergasthof

Restaurant

In der Klosterküche des traditionsreichen Restaurants entstehen aus frischen, regionalen Qualitätsprodukten köstliche Schmankerl und gehaltvolle Bergsteigerjausen. Probieren Sie zum süßen Abschluss unbedingt die Waldrasttorte oder eine der verführerischen Kuchen- und Mehlspeiskreationen aus der hauseigenen Konditorei.

Unser Klostergasthof ist ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel für Wanderer, Pilger und Alpinisten, Genießer und Ruhesuchende.

Unser kulinarisches Geheimnis?

Wir verarbeiten, wann immer es möglich ist, Produkte aus der eigenen Landwirtschaft, Jagd und Fischerei. So schwimmen unsere Kwell-Saiblinge auf über 1.600 m Seehöhe im Wasser der Waldraster Quellen und unsere Rinder verbringen den Bergsommer vor der Haustüre auf der Waldraster Alm.

Die urigen Stuben des Klostergasthofs versprühen echte Tiroler Gemütlichkeit und laden zum Genießen und Entspannen ein. Auch auf der großzügigen Sonnenterrasse, mit 150 teilweise überdachten Sitzplätzen, tauchen Sie in die klösterliche Almidylle ein und verkosten kulinarische Leckerbissen, bei grandiosem Ausblick auf den Alpenhauptkamm.

Der Nachhaltigkeit verpflichtet

Neben dem Klostergasthof betreiben wir auch einen land- und forstwirtschaftlichen Betrieb. So flankiert auch das neu errichtete Wirtschaftsgebäude mit Stallungen und Tennen den Gebäudekomplex der Waldrast nach Südwesten hin.

Die Landwirtschaft ermöglicht uns, neben der Produktion lokaler Lebensmittel (Kwell-Saibling, Tiroler Almochsen), die CO2 neutrale Beschickung unserer Hackschnitzelanlage mit nachwachsendem Rohstoff aus unserem Bergwald. Auch der Strom für die Waldrast wird lokal erzeugt. Unser Wasserkraftwerk sorgt dafür, dass Sie in einem Haus mit 500-jähriger Geschichte und exponierter Lage, den modernen Komfort und die Infrastruktur des 21. Jahrhunderts genießen können.